The Start of a New Chapter

It’s weird to think that less than 3 weeks ago I had never coded anything in my life and now here I am writing my inaugural blog entry as I start my journey with Makers Academy.

How did I get here? Well, I sort of fell into working at an Investment Bank as a junior trader straight out of university and while I enjoyed it to begin with, slow business resulted in the continuous contraction of my department. We barely had time to get over one round of redundancies before the next one arrived. The community feeling that was there when I joined had slowly disappeared and I just couldn’t shake off the fear that my job was just a ticking time bomb waiting to be taken over by a computer.

Eventually my fears were proven true and I found myself taking an unplanned gap year (which, incidentally, is probably one of the best things that could have happened to me!) and while travelling, I worked out what the key characteristics of my ideal job would be:

  1. Continuous learning
  2. Project-based work
  3. Flexibility to move anywhere in the world
  4. Working with and meeting lots of different people

Web development seemed like it could tick all of those boxes, but wait… Don’t you need to be a Harvard computer science genius like Mark Zuckerberg to do that?! Turns out you don’t. I found out that a friend of mine, a law graduate, learned how to code at a similar bootcamp and she directed me to Makers Academy. I applied pretty much as soon as I got home. I’d left myself with a pretty tight schedule since I wanted to start on the first course available. Given how little I knew about coding and how much time I’d allowed myself, I was surprised in the end by how much I actually enjoyed working through the Codecademy and Chris Pine Ruby tutorials.

After my interview, it was a nerve-wracking process to see if I’d got a place on the course (the career and time-frame I had mapped out for myself was now dependent on it) and fortunately for me, I was successful. So here I am, a fully-fledged Makers student, starting my official coding education. I imagine the next few months are going to be a bit of a rollercoaster ride and as cliched as it’s going to sound – I can’t wait!

 

 

Leave a Reply

